Mission, Leadership, and Governance

Harvard Medical Faculty Physicians at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (HMFP) is one of the largest physician organizations in New England, and is dedicated to excellence and innovation in patient care, education, and research. As a physician-led organization, HMFP partners with 2,200+ providers to support the delivery of exceptional care, promote professional development and diversity, and foster balance at work and home.


HMFP empowers its physicians to reach their career objectives, enjoy the practice of medicine, and thrive within a diverse community, through support services, advocacy, and innovation.

Leadership & Governance

HMFP is comprised of 13 clinical departments, each led by a chief or chair of service, who also serve on HMFP’s Board of Directors. The board also includes four elected physician members, and additional appointed community directors. In addition, HMFP corporate staff support the governance process by providing human resources, finance, IT, compliance, legal, and communications counsel to the board.

A welcome message from HMFP’s President and CEO, Alexa B. Kimball, MD, MPH


HMFP Senior Leadership Team

Alexa B. Kimball, MD, MPH
President & CEO

Meghan Agnew, MBA
Chief Financial Officer

Christine Baratta
Chief Communication Officer

Kristen Beech, Esq.
VP & Chief Legal Officer

David Chiu, MD, MPH
VP, Network Operations

Leanne Harvey, MBA
Chief Information Officer

Nanette Smith Callihan
Chief Human Resources Officer

Anthony Weiss, MD
Chief Medical Officer

Marcia Widmer
Chief Compliance Officer

HMFP Board of Directors

Appointed Community Directors

Kevin Brennan, CFA, FHFMA
Principal, Sunstone Consulting
Previous Executive Vice President of Finance & CFO, Geisinger

Melinda Beeuwkes Buntin, Ph.D.
Chair of Dept. of Health Policy, Vanderbilt University

Shaw McDermott, Esq.
Partner, K&L Gates

Sara Singer, Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine, Stanford University

B. Vindell Washington, MD
Chief Clinical Officer, Verily Health Platforms


Elected Physician Members

Megan E. Anderson, MD
Department of Orthopaedics

Ritika Parris, MD
Department of Medicine

Shahzad Shaefi, MD, MPH
Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine

Carrie Tibbles, MD
Department of Emergency Medicine


Department Chief/Chair Members

Daniel S. Talmor, MD, MPH
Chair, Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine

Rachel V. Reynolds, MD
Interim Chief, Department of Dermatology

Richard Wolfe, MD
Chief, Department of Emergency Medicine

Mark Zeidel, MD
Chair, Department of Medicine

DeWayne Pursley, MD, MPH
Chief, Department of Neonatology
Interim Chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Seward B. Rutkove, MD
Chair, Department of Neurology

Edward K. Rodriguez, MD, PhD
Chief, Department of Orthopaedics

Michael Roehrl, MD, PhD, MBA
Chair, Department of Pathology

William E. Greenberg, MD
Chief, Department of Psychiatry

Jonathan B. Kruskal, MD, PhD
Chair, Department of Radiology

Mary Ann Stevenson, MD, PhD
Chief, Department of Radiation Oncology

Elliot L. Chaikof, MD
Chair, Department of Surgery