Department Highlights

BIDMC Earns National Recognition for from the American Heart Association



We're proud to share that **Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center** has been recognized by the American Heart Association (AHA) with the **2025 Get With The Guidelines®-Stroke Gold Plus Award** — including distinctions on the **Target: Stroke Honor Roll Elite**, **Advanced Therapy**, and **Target: Type 2 Diabetes Honor Roll**.

This award reflects our team's exceptional commitment to evidence-based care and improved outcomes for patients with stroke and related conditions. It's based on our 2023–2024 performance data and brings national recognition to BIDMC, including a feature in the *U.S. News & World Report* "Best Hospitals" issue and recognition at the 2026 International Stroke Conference.

Congratulations to all who contributed to this outstanding achievement in stroke care!

Stroke Center Receives Recertification



We are pleased to share that Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center has been recertified as a Comprehensive Stroke Center by The Joint Commission. This prestigious designation reflects our continued commitment to delivering the highest standards of stroke care, quality, and safety for our patients, workforce, and community.

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center



Department Highlights





Nara Michaelson, MD, and Rikka Azuma, MD, have signed on to help support MS/Neuro-immunology and general neurology, joining faculty in summer.



Recent Clinical Fellow graduate and Resident Alumni, **Stephanie Vu, MD**, will be joining faculty officially in Neurohospital, tele-neurology and stroke in summer.





BIDMC Shapiro Education Week Recognizes Barrette, Kohiyama and Hovaguimian

Congratulations to **Ryan Barrette**, **MD**, and **Dr. Mayumi Kohiyama**, **MD**, recipients of this year's Resident as Teacher Award in Neurology! Selected based on exceptional teaching talent and enthusiastic feedback from the HMS Class of 2024–25, this award recognizes their dedication to medical education and their impact on student learning.

Alex Hovaguimian, MD, was also recognized with the 2025 American Academy of Neurology Clerkship Director Innovation Award. This award acknowledges Hovaguimian's commitment to continual improvement of the education and mentorship of our trainees.

They were honored during the BIDMC Shapiro Education Week Teaching Awards Ceremony on Monday, June 2. Congratulations and thank you for your outstanding contributions to our educational mission!

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center



Department Highlights

Rutkove Talks Muscle Loss and Spaceflight on NASA's Curious Universe

Seward Rutkove, MD, was recently featured on NASA's Curious Universe podcast to talk about a fascinating study where volunteers lie in bed for 60 days to help scientists understand how space travel affects the body. He shared how his team at BIDMC is using innovative tools to track muscle and nerve changes—and help develop ways to protect astronauts on long missions.



Listen here.

Saper Featured in ANA 150th Anniversary Video

In honor of the American Neurological Association's 150th anniversary, **Clif Saper, MD, PhD, Chief Emeritus**, was invited to reflect on his tenure as Editor-in-Chief of Annals of Neurology in a special commemorative video. Dr. Saper was Editor-in-Chief from 2014-2021, and currently serves as the Treasurer of the ANA.

Dr. Saper shares insights on landmark scientific advances, editorial milestones, and the evolving landscape of neurology during his leadership.

Beth Israel Deaconess

Medical Center





Department Highlights

Congratulations to Our 2025 Resident and Fellow Graduates!

We are proud to celebrate the graduation of our outstanding 2025 residents and fellows. Their dedication, compassion, and excellence have enriched our department and inspired those around them. We look forward to all they'll accomplish as they move into the next phase of their careers.

Special thanks to **Dr. Penny Greenstein**, **Dr. Aimee Boegle**, **Sasha Smith**, and **Billy Kanellopoulos** for their leadership and mentorship, and for guiding both our current graduates and the future classes of Neurology trainees.

The future of Neurology is in great hands!



Front row: Penny Greenstein (Program Director), Matt McGuinness, Ushna Khan, Nicole Cesanek, Aimee Boegle (Associate Program Director) Back row: Ailing Yang, Ryan Barrette, Stephen Trudeau, Andres Eras



Fellow Graduates 2025

From left to right: James Devanney, Jose Ricardo Lopez Castellanos, Stephanie Vu, Joseph Ditrapani, Joyce Mbiziwo-Tiapo, Saagar Seth, Selene Jamall, Hillary Mullan, Kehan Zhao, Rikka Azuma, Noor Mahmoud, Shravan Sivakumar

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center



Department Highlights Research Spotlight



NIH Sleep Grant Renewed for Another 5 Years

The NIH P01 grant from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute on "Mechanisms of Sleep and Sleep Apnea" has been renewed for another five years, providing \$1,765,000 annually in direct costs to support this important research. Led by **Clif Saper, MD, PhD, Chief Emeritus**, the renewal reflects the team's longstanding leadership and continued impact in the field of sleep neuroscience.

nature

We are pleased to share a groundbreaking publication from our department in *Nature*, titled: **"Preoptic EP3R neurons constitute a two-way switch for fever and torpor."**

Led by Drs. **Natalia Machado, Clif Saper** and colleagues, this study identifies a distinct population of MnPO neurons expressing the prostaglandin EP3 receptor that act as a central thermoregulatory switch—capable of driving both fever and hypothermia (torpor). These findings provide critical insights into survival physiology and metabolic regulation. Publication in *Nature* reflects the exceptional rigor, innovation, and scientific leadership of our Neurology faculty. Congratulations to the entire team on this remarkable achievement.

Read the article >

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

