Department of Medicine

New Physician Arrivals

Allergy and Inflammation

Timothy Lax, MD — BIDMC

Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism

Anna Groysman, MD — BIDMC Suruchi Gupta, MD — BIDMC

General Medicine — Hospital Medicine

Tristan Dao, MD — BIDMC, Needham, Milton, Plymouth Stephen Dunn, MD — BIDMC Bhavna Lall, MD — BIDMC Arun Nachiappan, MD — BIDMC, Needham, Milton, Plymouth

> Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center



Department of Medicine Promotions





Sarah Berry, MD, MPH, has been appointed **Chief of the Division of Gerontology** in the Department of Medicine. An outstanding teacher and mentor, an internationally recognized researcher, and a highly effective program leader, Dr. Berry will continue to uphold BIDMC's and Hebrew SeniorLife's reputation for clinical, teaching, and research excellence in the field of aging. She will be overseeing clinicians across the Division and Hebrew SeniorLife, and clinical investigators at the Hinda and Arthur Marcus Institute for Aging Research, where she is currently a senior scientist. She has been named Chair of the Age Friendly Leadership Committee, a newly formed committee at BIDMC committed to ensuring older adults receive evidence-based programs of care, and is currently taking part in the Linde Family Fellowship Program.

Brian J. Stout, MD, MBA, MHA, has assumed the role of **Clinical Chief** of the **Division of Rheumatology and Clinical Immunology**. An Instructor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, Dr. Stout also serves as the Associate Program Director for the Rheumatology Fellowship at BIDMC, where he is deeply involved in trainee education, curriculum development, and mentorship. As Clinical Chief, he is focused on expanding access to high-quality rheumatologic care, strengthening educational opportunities, and fostering collaboration across the BIDMC system.

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center



Department of Medicine Promotions



Kari C. Nadeau, MD, PhD, has been promoted to Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. Faculty in the Division of Allergy and Inflammation, Dr. Nadeau is the Chair of the Department of Environmental Health at Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health where she is also the John Rock Professor of Climate Science and Population Studies. She brings her internationally recognized expertise on the impacts of environmental exposures, including those from climate change and pollution, to the Department of Medicine and will be interacting with our faculty and trainees in both the Pulmonary and Allergy Divisions.



Roger Shapiro, MD, MPH, has been promoted to **Professor of Medicine** at **Harvard Medical School**. A member of the faculty in the **Division of Infectious Diseases**, Dr. Shapiro's secondary appointment is Professor of Immunology and Infectious Diseases at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. An outstanding research investigator, educator, and clinician, Dr. Shapiro has been a valued member of the clinical infectious diseases teaching service at BIDMC for over two decades and is responsible for establishing the BIDMC-Botswana Global Health Program.

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center



Department of Medicine Awards & Honors

Michael Curry, MD, Director of the Liver Center and faculty in the **Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition** is this year's **Thorndike Lecture** awardee. The annual Thorndike Lectures, hosted by the Internal Medicine Residency, recognizes a faculty member as one who has made enormous contributions to their field. It's a unique honor that highlights individuals who exemplify the BIDMC ideals – not simply of academic success, but those who demonstrate humility and compassion in what they do. They are the kind of doctor we would want for our own family members. Dr. Curry's lecture was entitled, "*My Journey as a Clinical Researcher – How to Adapt to Changing Priorities.*"

Barbara Kahn, MD, MS, and **Shingo Kajimura, PhD,** faculty of the **Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism**, are recipients of the <u>2025 National Scientific and Health Care Achievement Awards</u> from the American Diabetes Association. Dr. Kahn is the recipient of the **2025 Albert Renold Award**, which is presented to an individual whose career is distinguished by outstanding achievements in the training and mentorship of diabetes research scientists and in the development of communities of scientists to enhance diabetes research. Dr. Kajimura is the recipient of the **2025 Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award**, which recognizes research in diabetes that demonstrates particular independence of thought and originality.

The **Pancreas Center**, within the **Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition**, has been nationally recognized as an approved **NPF Center of Excellence by the National Pancreas Foundation**. NPF Centers are awarded after a rigorous audit review to determine that an institution's focus is on multidisciplinary treatment of pancreatitis – treating the "whole patient" with a focus on the best possible outcomes and an improved quality of life. Other criteria include having the required expert physician specialties and patient-focused programs. The Pancreas Center is led by Directors **Steven Freedman, MD, PhD**, and **Sunil Sheth, MD**, who provide dedicated and personalized care for our cohort of pancreas patients alongside procedural experts in the Center for Advanced Endoscopy.



